home Anthozoa, Cephalopoda, Echinozoa

Argonautidae 2 species (3 shells in total)

Phylum      : Mollusca
 Class       : Cephalopoda 
  Subclass    : Coleoidea 
   Superorder  : Octopodiformes 
    Order       : Octopoda 
     Suborder    : Incirrata 
      Superfamily : Argonautoidea 
       Family      : Argonautidae 

Common name : argonaut

Aspect : small octopuses, the female of which secretes a papery pod to shelter its eggs and to regulate its depth of buoyancy. Shell with a contour resembling the nautilus (but entirely hollow unlike the nautilus, the shell of which is partitioned into "chambers")

Feeding : carnivore

Environment : all warm seas, especially the Mediterranean

Argonauta argo Linnaeus, 1758

Argonauta argo

Argonauta hians Lightfoot, 1786

Argonauta hians
top of the page
free web hosting ! compteur Licence Creative Commons valid CSS ! valid HTML5 !